DUI Penalties

What are the penalties for DUI?

There are a number of potential outcomes that you might face if you are charged with driving under the influence, which include jail time, a fine, a license penalty, electronic home monitoring, a court ordered sobriety program, required acquisition of insurance, or some combination of these penalties. The outcome depends largely on two factors: whether you have prior convictions and whether your BAC level exceeds 0.15. Prior convictions increase the severity of the penalties you might face if charged with DUI. Further, even though the BAC limit for a DUI charge is 0.08, if your BAC level exceeds 0.15, then you face more severe penalties as well.

DUI penalties for a BAC level under 0.15

If you have no prior offenses in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 24 hours - 1 year
  • Fine: $350 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: suspension or denial for 90 days

If you have one prior offense in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 30 days - 1 year
  • Fine: $500 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: revocation or denial for 2 years
  • Electronic Home Monitoring: 60 days

If you have two or three prior offenses in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 90 days - 1 year
  • Fine: $1,000 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: revocation or denial for 3 years
  • Electronic Home Monitoring: 120 days
  • 24/7 Sobriety Program: 6 months
  • Required acquisition of Washington SR22 Insurance
DUI penalties for a BAC level exceeding 0.15

If you have no prior offenses in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 48 hours - 1 year
  • Fine: $500 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: revocation or denial for 1 year

If you have one prior offense in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 45 days - 1 year
  • Fine: $750 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: revocation or denial for 900 days
  • Electronic Home Monitoring: 90 days

If you have two or three prior offenses in seven years, then you might face any combination of the following:

  • Jail Time: 120 days - 1 year
  • Fine: $1,500 - $5,000
  • License Penalty: revocation or denial for 4 years
  • Electronic Home Monitoring: 150 days
  • 24/7 Sobriety Program: 6 months
  • Required acquisition of Washington SR22 Insurance
Deferred Prosecution

If you are charged with DUI, you may petition the court to be considered for deferred prosecution if your offense was a result of alcoholism or drug addiction. Such a petition must be filed seven days before trial begins. Further, such a petition must include a statement, under oath, that your conduct was the result of alcoholism or drug addiction, as well as a case history and written assessment by an alcohol or drug treatment program. The court might then refer you for a diagnostic evaluation, upon which a report and plan for treatment will be provided to the court. If the court approves the plan and you comply with its terms, then you will be accepted for deferred prosecution.