Seattle Underage DUI Attorney
In an effort to curb underage drinking and driving, Washington lawmakers have instituted RCW 46.61.503, which makes it an offense for individuals under the age of 21 to operate a vehicle after consuming alcohol, and the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) that will result in DUI charges against a minor is 0.02. It is not necessary for the individual to be exhibiting any signs of intoxication for the charges to be filed. This BAC level would ordinarily be registered after consuming only one beer or one glass of wine. Any individual under the age of 21 who has been pulled over and tested for alcohol intoxication and subsequently registers at a BAC level of 0.02 or above will be charged with minor DUI.Minor DUI Penalties in Washington State:
In the State of Washington, the penalties for a minor DUI offense are exceptionally harsh and include a maximum of 90 days in jail and a fine of $1,000. There is frequently a probationary period that can last up to two years, and it may be required that the individual undergo an "alcohol assessment", attend alcohol treatment classes, receive drug counseling, perform community service, submit to random testing, and/or attend a DUI victim's panel. If convicted, the individual will also have their driver's license suspended for 90 days. There are several issues that must be addressed quickly if you are hoping to avoid the extreme penalties of a conviction. The criminal charges of minor DUI must be defended; the suspension of your driver's license will be addressed at a hearing before the Department of Licensing if you hope to retain your legal right to drive. You have only a short period of time during which you may request this hearing -- 20 days from the date of the arrest. If convicted, not only would your driver's license be suspended, but you would also be required to purchase high-risk insurance for 3 years subsequent to the conviction - an expensive policy.
If you have registered at a BAC level of 0.08 or higher, you will be prosecuted as an adult and, if convicted, you will be subject to adult penalties.